Turn Off Your Computer to Save Energy

23 Jan

2008 HowStuffWorks

Again from HowStuffWorks, I found this interesting article. And again, it’s about computer.

I sometimes also ask myself whether it’s OK to leave my computer on, or turn it off and then turn it on again. It’s may give different impact to the computer. I thought that the computer may broken if I turn it on and off several times. It may also become very hot if I just leave it on. My knowledge about computer isn’t very well, so this article really helps, especially that I want to live my life more eco-friendly.

This is how it works. If we leave our computer on, there should be reason to do it, such as we’re on a network, using it as a server, or running things like SETI@home. If not, then we would better turn our computer off to save energy. Electricity we get to turn on the computer may be produced by the generator which use oil or coal fuel. Oil and coal are non-renewable energy and it’s combustion produce green house gases. If we leave our computer on but we didn’t do anything with it, then it would be such a waste. Moreover, we pay the electricity bill.

So, what if the computer is being turned on and off? Will it stress or broken? Well, here is the opinion:

  1. Computer hardware is very reliable.
  2. TV may contain the same part as computer and it being turned on and off everyday and it’s okay.

Computer software may not as reliable as the hardware, so to make it more durable, make sure that you turn off your computer properly.

6 Responses to “Turn Off Your Computer to Save Energy”

  1. Aviansoft January 23, 2012 at 6:37 am #

    its really informative, Great article….

  2. simple2ringo January 23, 2012 at 6:56 am #

    thanks for the comment🙂

  3. Margaretta Aboud January 29, 2012 at 8:59 pm #

    I have noticed that of all kinds of insurance, health insurance coverage is the most debatable because of the conflict between the insurance company’s necessity to remain afloat and the customer’s need to have insurance coverage. Insurance companies’ commission rates on health plans are incredibly low, hence some corporations struggle to earn profits. Thanks for the tips you discuss through this site.

  4. mink pink bikini February 5, 2012 at 11:30 am #

    Pretty section of content. I simply stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I¡¦ll be subscribing to your augment and even I success you get admission to persistently quickly.

  5. Arlette Mogush February 11, 2012 at 8:39 am #

    Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed! Extremely useful info particularly the last part🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was seeking this particular info for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  6. Cleveland Sekula February 12, 2012 at 11:33 am #

    Fantastic website you have here but I was wondering if you knew of any user discussion forums that cover the same topics talked about here? I’d really love to be a part of online community where I can get feed-back from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

