Preparing for the Dead’s ‘Departure’

25 Jan

I just watched this movie with my old friends. A friend of them recommended this because it has got some awards. Well, she aren’t exaggerating.

Movie Title: Departure (Japan: Okuribito)

Directed by Yōjirō Takita
Produced by Yasuhiro Mase
Written by Kundo Koyama
Starring Masahiro Motoki
Ryōko Hirosue
Tsutomu Yamazaki
Kimiko Yo
Kazuko Yoshiyuki
Takashi Sasano
Music by Joe Hisaishi
Cinematography Takeshi Hamada
Editing by Akimasa Kawashima
Distributed by Shochiku
Release date(s) September 13, 2008
Running time 131 minutes
Country Japan
Language Japanese

It’s the story about a job that’s only a few person would do it. Their family would be ashamed if they knew that one of them had this job. This story tried to tell people about what’s Japanese people thinking about this kind of job. No one would do it, but in the other hand, they need it. The job is about preparing the dead for funerals.

I noticed that in Japan, preparing for funerals are quite complicated, but gentle and meaningful in the other hand. It also contains a lot of Japanese cultures in funerals. It’s kind of an important and holy ceremony, so the audience could also feel the essential and the meaning of death. They would think that everyone would die, but we all want to die peacefully and being loved with people we love. It gives me a feeling to live my life better so that I could have such a peaceful death. Oh, God, I wish it would come true.

This movie has received some awards, check this out for the details. In the end, I like this phrase:

Death isn’t the end. It’s a stage to go to the next stage.

It’s a gate.

(Tsuyako’s friend, character in movie Departure / Okuribito)

 

Link in this article:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Departures_(film)

5 Responses to “Preparing for the Dead’s ‘Departure’”

  1. Altagracia Selover January 29, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

    You made some decent factors there. I seemed on the internet for the issue and located most people will go together with along with your website.

  2. mink pink inca dress February 5, 2012 at 8:25 am #

    When I initially commented I clicked the -Notify me when new feedback are added- checkbox and now each time a remark is added I get four emails with the identical comment. Is there any approach you may take away me from that service? Thanks!

  3. Jerrell Northan February 6, 2012 at 5:42 am #

    I wish to express some thanks to this writer for bailing me out of this type of condition. Right after looking out throughout the online world and meeting tips which are not pleasant, I believed my entire life was done. Being alive minus the strategies to the issues you have fixed by means of the article content is a critical case, as well as ones that would have badly affected my career if I had not discovered the blog. Your own personal training and kindness in controlling almost everything was vital. I’m not sure what I would’ve done if I had not come across such a solution like this. I can also at this time relish my future. Thanks for your time so much for this reliable and amazing help. I will not hesitate to refer your site to any individual who would like assistance about this area.

  4. Josiah Gauvin February 9, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

    this web site is my intake , real fantastic design and style and perfect subject matter.

  5. Sammie Jannise February 13, 2012 at 12:24 am #

    WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..extra wait .. …

Leave a Reply

